KU Edwards Campus A-Z
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  • Home
  • KLETC Announces November Law Enforcement Training Graduates

KLETC Announces November Law Enforcement Training Graduates

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

YODER (Nov. 13, 2017) – Fifty-seven new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Nov. 3. Kansas City, Missouri, FBI Special Agent in Charge Darrin Jones was the speaker for the ceremony in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.

The new officers were members of the 247th basic training class at the center. Located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, the center is a division of University of Kansas Professional & Continuing Education.

The graduates, who began their training on July 31, represented 41 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, the center trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. The center offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year.

Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by agency.

Allen County
Allen County Sheriff's Office; Tanner Porter; deputy; Iola

Atchison County
Atchison Police Department; Darren Kelley; patrol officer; Atchison
Atchison Police Department; Wyatt Richardson; patrol officer; Atchison

Barton County
Great Bend Police Department; Taylor Reed; patrol officer; Great Bend

Brown County
Sac & Fox Tribal Police Department; Trevor Kaufman; patrol officer; Reserve

Butler County
Butler County Sheriff's Office; Ezra Nicholson; deputy; El Dorado
El Dorado Police Department; Scott Stewart; patrol officer; El Dorado
El Dorado Police Department; Ashley Toews; patrol officer; El Dorado
Butler County Sheriff's Office; Annette Trieb; deputy; El Dorado

Cherokee County
Galena Police Department; Gabriel Baugh; patrol officer; Galena

Ellis County
Hays Police Department; Ryan Blecha; patrol officer; Hays

Finney County
Finney County Sheriff's Office; Eva Crockett; deputy; Garden City
Garden City Police Department; Justin Freitas; patrol officer; Garden City
Finney County Sheriff's Office; Colleen McMillan; deputy; Garden City

Ford County
Dodge City Police Department; Hannah Mazza; patrol officer; Dodge City
Dodge City Police Department; Faviola Pastran-Miranda; patrol officer; Dodge City

Franklin County
Franklin County Sheriff's Office; Corey Taylor; deputy; Ottawa

Harper County
Anthony Police Department; Faith Sauer; patrol officer; Anthony

Harvey County
Newton Police Department; Steven Hamersky; patrol officer; Newton

Jefferson County
McLouth Police Department; Bradley Williams; patrol officer; McLouth

Kearny County
Kearny County Sheriff's Department; Bradley Anderson; deputy; Lakin

Leavenworth County
Leavenworth Police Department; James Watson; patrol officer; Leavenworth

McPherson County
McPherson Police Department; Jesse King; patrol officer; McPherson
Marquette Police Department; Randolph Lillard; patrol officer; Marquette

Miami County
Miami County Sheriff’s Office; Joseph Ray; deputy; Paola

Montgomery County
Independence Police Department; David Jay; patrol officer; Independence

Osage County
Osage County Sheriff's Office; Joey White; deputy; Lyndon

Phillips County
Phillips County Sheriff's Department; Brandon Gaede; deputy; Phillipsburg

Pottawatomie County
Pottawatomie Co Sheriff's Office; Victor Cervantes; deputy; Westmoreland
Pottawatomie Co Sheriff's Office; Doc Treadwell; deputy; Westmoreland

Reno County
Hutchinson Police Department; Desarae Hogan; patrol officer; Hutchinson
Hutchinson Police Department; Justin Reed; patrol officer; Hutchinson
Reno County Sheriff’s Office; Kyle Webb; deputy; Hutchinson

Rice County
Lyons Police Department; Caleb Rankin; patrol officer; Lyons

Riley County
Riley County Police Department; Denver Johnston; patrol officer; Manhattan
Riley County Police Department; Paul Terpstra; patrol officer; Manhattan
Kansas State Univ PD; Curtis Tyra; patrol officer; Manhattan

Rooks County
Rooks County Sheriff's Department; Quintin Silsby; deputy, Stockton

Sedgwick County
Derby Police Department; Garrett Brummett; patrol officer; Derby
Derby Police Department; Zackary Hobson; patrol officer; Derby

Shawnee County
Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office; Jonathan Martens; deputy; Topeka
Washburn University Police Dept; Zachary Mersmann; patrol officer; Topeka

Thomas County
Colby Police Department; Glenn Kaaz; patrol officer; Colby
Colby Police Department; Steven Nelson; patrol officer; Colby

Washington County
Washington Co Sheriff's Department; Matthew Beckmann; deputy, Washington
Washington Co Sheriff's Department; Marvin Carver; deputy; Washington

Wyandotte County
University of KS Med Center PD; Philip Moss; patrol officer; Kansas City